J. S. Bach: Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ, BWV 67 • C. P. E. Bach: Die Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt Jesu, Wq 240

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Resurrection cantata »Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ« (BWV 67), written in 1724, is juxtaposed with the oratorio Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt Jesu (»Jesus’ Resurrection and Ascension«, Wq 240) by his second-eldest son Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. Almost anticipating his son’s sturm und drang style, in movement 6 in a dramatic scene at the climax of the cantata, J. S. Bach switches several times between Christ’s peaceful chant »Friede sei mit euch« (»Peace be with you«) and a chorus accompanied by furiously playing strings, supposed to defend Christ’s disciples against the raging enemies. In the oratorio by C. P. E. Bach which the composer himself held in high esteem, all the emotions that a Christ might experience in relation to resurrection and ascension are vividly expressed in the music. The duet »Vater deiner schwachen Kinder« is deeply touching.

Veronika Winter (soprano), Margot Oitzinger (alto), Georg Poplutz (tenor), Matthias Vieweg (bass), Rheinische Kantorei, Das Kleine Konzert, direction: Hermann Max

Rheinische Kantorei


The programme will include:
Allegri – Miserere
Lotti – Crucifixus
Excerpts from Bach’s St John Passion
Excerpts from Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas
Handel – Dixit Dominus

Soloists: Bethany Seymour, Gwen Martin, Eleanor Minney, Graham Neal, Alex Ashworth

Milton Keynes City Orchestra

Conductor: Tom Appleton

Tickets available here